Spring and Pink Flowers

I always put a small bowl of flowers beneath my massage table for clients so they can have something pretty to look at while having their back massaged, before they close their eyes and (in the perfect situation) nod off to sleep. I also put them on the dining table on the patio or in our entrance hall on occasion, although Murdoch the hydrophiliac maniac cat finds these bowls and drinks all the water out of them so I need to keep topping them up. The Madagascar periwinkle (5 petalled pink flower in both bowls) is extremely common in Kitwe and very few gardens don’t have them as they flourish like weeds in any soil.

For our second anniversary my husband had two of these arches made at my request for the garden so that the trailing roses could be put to good use (instead of climbing up the walls and growing into the windows). Now they’re blooming beautifully and the bees couldn’t be happier.

IMG_6730

Below on the left are my wee little chrysanthemums which I’ve had some success with in propagating from cuttings, and spreading their cheery pinkness across more of the garden. The begonias on the right did a great job last season of seeding themselves so I’m enjoying their pink and white blooms and wondering what colour the babies will be, before I pot them up for friends.

One thought on “Spring and Pink Flowers

Leave a comment